

# Call for Papers BIOSIG 2017

# 16th International Conference of the Biometrics Special Interest Group

# 20.-22.09.2017, Darmstadt

# http://www.biosig.de/biosig2017

Biometrics provides efficient and reliable solutions to recognize individuals. With increasing number of identity theft and miss-use incidents we do observe a significant fraud in e-commerce and thus growing interests on trustworthiness of person authentication. Nowadays we find biometric applications in areas like border control, national ID cards, e-banking, e-commerce, e-health etc. Large-scale applications such as the European Union Smart-Border Concept, the Visa Information System (VIS) and Unique Identification (UID) in India require high accuracy and also reliability, interoperability, scalability and usability. Many of these are joint requirements also for forensic applications.

Multimodal biometrics combined with fusion techniques can improve recognition performance. Efficient searching or indexing methods can accelerate identification efficiency. Additionally, quality of captured biometric samples can strongly influence the performance. Moreover, mobile biometrics is an emerging area and biometrics based smartphones can support deployment and acceptance of biometric systems.

However, concerns about security and privacy cannot be neglected. The relevant techniques in the area of presentation attack detection (liveness detection) and template protection are about to supplement biometric systems, in order to improve fake resistance, prevent potential attacks such as cross matching, identity theft etc.

The BIOSIG 2017 conference addresses these issues and will present innovations and best practices that can be transferred into future applications. The conference is jointly organized by the Competence Center for Applied Security Technology (CAST), the German Federal Office for Information Security (BSI), the European Association for Biometrics (EAB), the Joint Research

Centre of the European Commission (JRC), the TeleTrusT-Association, the Norwegian Biometrics Laboratory (NBL), the Center for Research in Security and Privacy (CRSIP), the Fraunhofer Institute for Computer Graphics Research IGD, IET Biometrics Journal and the special interest group BIOSIG of the Gesellschaft für Informatik e.V. (GI). The conference will be technically co- sponsored by IEEE and papers will be added to IEEE Xplore.

We invite stakeholders and technical experts to submit original research papers. Industrial contributions presenting lessons learnt from practical usage, case study, recent results of prototypes, are also welcomed. Submissions (max. 8 pages) should be in English. Each paper will be subjected of a double blind peer review. Note that those contributions, which will be accepted as research paper, might be extended to 12 pages.

Each paper will be subjected of a double blind peer review. Submission instructions can be found at:

http://fg-biosig.gi.de/biosig-2017/paper-submission.html

Important Dates	
13.06.2017	Deadline for submissions
15.07.2017	Notification of authors via e-mail
15.08.2017	Deadline for final papers (ready for press)
18./19.09.2017	EAB-Research Project Conference
20.09.2017	Satellite Workshop TTT Working Group
20.09.2017	EAB European Research and Industry Award
21./22.09.2017	Main Conference: Talks and Presentations
22.09.2017	BIOSIG Best Paper Award

## **Invited Talks**

#### Ciaran Carolan (eu-LISA)

Biometrics, interoperability and large-scale IT systems: the Future of EU Smart Borders

#### Mark Nixon (University of Southampton, U.K.)

Soft Biometrics: Identification by Face, Body and Clothing

#### Yoshinori Koda (NEC Corporation, JP)

Fingerprinting young newborns - from sensor design to application challenges

# **Special Interest Group BIOSIG**

The BIOSIG Group is dedicated to the foundations of biometrics. Its objective is to to link practical experience with academic innovations. Thus the Special Interest Group BIOSIG together with its co-organizers is providing with its annual conference a suitable platform to work on these issues.

# **Topics of Interest**

Topics of the conference include but are not limited to: Biometric standards and interoperability, multimodal and multibiometrics, security analysis of biometric components or systems, on-card comparison, fake resistance, liveness detection, aging of reference data, template protection, de-identification, user interface design for biometric systems, biometric performance measurement, sample quality, best practices, usability, continuous authentication, forensics and other emerging applications, ethical, legal and socio-technological aspects, biometrics for public administrations.

### **Organizing Committee**

General Chair: Christoph Busch Program Chairs: Antitza Dantcheva, Christian Rathgeb, Andreas Uhl Publication Chair: Arslan Brömme Publicity Chair: Victor Philip Busch Local Chairs: Alexander Nouak, Claudia Prediger

## **Program Committee**

Harald Baier (CASED, DE) Detlef Hühnlein (ecsec, DE) Oliver Bausinger (BSI, DE) Christiane Kaplan (softpro, DE) Piotr Bilinski (Univ. Oxford UK) Stefan Katzenbeisser (TUD, DE) Thirimachos Bourlai (WVU, US) Tom Kevenaar (GenKey, NL) Patrick Bours (GUC, NO) Ulrike Korte (BSL DE) Sebastien Brangoulo (Morpho, FR) Ajay Kumar (Poly, HK) Andreas Braun (FHG IGD, DE) Herbert Leitold (a-sit, AT) Ralph Breithaupt (BSI, DE) Guoqiang Li (GUC, NO) Stan Li (CBSR, CN) Julien Bringer (Morpho, FR) Arslan Brömme (GI/BIOSIG, DE) Christoph Busch (CAST-Forum, DE) Paulo Lobato Correira (JST PT) Davide Maltoni (UBO, IT) Victor-Philipp Busch (Sybuca, DE) Johannes Merkle (secunet, DE) Patrizio Campisi (Uni Roma 3, IT) Cunjian Chen (MSU, US) Didier Meuwly (NEL NL) Emilio Mordini (CSSC, IT) Nathan Clarke (CSCAN, UK) Kamal Nasrollahi (AAU, DK) Adam Czajka (NASK, PL) Elaine Newton (NIST, US) Farzin Deravi (UKE, UK) Mark Nixon (UoS, UK) Antitza Dantcheva (INRIA FR) Alexander Nouak (Fraunhofer, DE) Markus Nuppeney (BSI, DE) Martin Drahansky (BUT, CZ) Andrzej Drygajlo (EPFL, CH) Hisao Ogata (Hitachi, JP) Martin Olsen (GUC, NO) James Ferryman (UR, UK) Julian Fierrez (UAM, ES) Javier Ortega-Garcia (UAM, ES) Simone Fischer-Hühner (KAU SE) Michael Peirce (Daon, IR) Lothar Fritsch (NR, NO) Dijana Petrovska (TSP, FR) Steven Furnell (CSCAN, UK) Anika Pflug (CASED, DE) Sonia Garcia (TSP\_FR) Joannis Pitas (AUT GR) Marta Gomez-Barrero (UAM, ES) Fernando Podio (NIST, US) Patrick Grother (NIST, US) Kiran Raja (GUC, NO) Olaf Henniger (FHG IGD, DE) Raghu Ramachandra (GUC, NO) Heinz Hofbauer (COSY, AT) Kai Rannenberg (Uni FFM, DE)

Christian Rathgeb (CASED, DE) Arun Ross (MSU, US) Heiko Roßnagel (Fhg IAO, DE) Raul Sanchez-Reillo (UC3M, ES) Stephanie Schuckers (CIU/US) Günter Schumacher (JRC, IT) Takashi Shinzaki (Fujitsu, JP) Max Snijder (EAB, NL) Luis Soares (ISCTE-IUL, PT) Luuk Spreeuwers (UTW, NL) Syed Z. Syed Idrus (iKOM, MY) Elham Tabassi (NIST, US) Tieniu Tan (NI PR CN) Massimo Tistarelli (UNISS, IT) Dimitrios Tzovaras (CfRaT, GR Andreas Uhl (COSY, AT) Markus Ullmann (BSI, DE) Raymond Veldhuis (UTW\_NL) Anne Wang (Cogent, US) Jim Wayman (SJSU, US) Peter Wild (AIT, AT) Andreas Wolf (BDR, DE) Bian Yang (GUC, NO)